Oregon requires nearly all businesses with one or more employees to carry Workers' Compensation coverage. Sole proprietors without employees are not required to carry coverage for themselves but can optionally purchase coverage. Approved businesses may self-insure.
Private residence workers and casual labor are generally excluded from Workers' Compensation requirements in Oregon. Sole proprietors, partners, LLC members, and some corporate officers may also be excluded from Oregon’s Workers’ Compensation coverage requirements.
Like other states, Oregon requires employers who provide Workers’ Compensation coverage for employees to post a notice in a conspicuous area with other labor notices that provides coverage details, such as the name and contact information of the insurer and the location of the local Workers’ Compensation Board office.
Oregon can impose a fine upon non-compliant employers with a minimum cost of $1,000 for a first offense. Continued non-compliance can lead to additional fines of $250 per day with no limit to the total amount of the fine. By law, non-compliant employers are required to pay Workers’ Compensation benefits for work-related injuries or illnesses.
How much is Workers' Compensation in the state of Oregon?
Worker's Compensation rates in Oregon are primarily based on the type of business you do and your payroll. Other factors, such as your safety or claims history, can also affect rates. Typically, businesses in lower risk industries pay lower workers compensation rates. CoverWallet can give you a quote for your business.
Is Oregon a monopolistic state for Workers' Compensation?
No. Workers' Compensation coverage in Oregon can be purchased through agents or brokers licensed to sell business insurance within the state, or through online portals such as CoverWallet. Oregon also has a state fund for Workers' Compensation, which can provide coverage for difficult-to-place businesses.
What Does Oregon Workers' Compensation Cover?
Workers' Compensation insurance in Oregon pays for medical treatments due to work-related injuries or occupational illnesses. The coverage also provides income replacement for lost wages due to work injuries and is available to nearly all employees within the state of Oregon.
Where Can You Buy Oregon Workers' Compensation Insurance?
Businesses in Oregon can purchase Workers' Compensation coverage through insurance agents or brokers licensed to sell business insurance in the state, or through online portals, such as CoverWallet, that can provide several types of insurance. Oregon also has a state fund which guarantees that businesses have access to Workers' Compensation coverage as required.