Most employers with three or more employees in Georgia are required to carry workers compensation coverage to protect employees in the event of a work-related injury or illness. Corporate officers and members of limited liability companies are automatically considered to be employees in Georgia but may choose to exempt themselves from coverage. Sole proprietors and partners are not considered employees but may choose to be covered.
A sole proprietor or a partner in a Georgia business is not automatically considered to be an employee. However, sole proprietors or partners can elect coverage for themselves as an employee by notifying their insurer.
Georgia employers are required to post a notice reflecting coverage and post the State Board of Workers’ Compensation Bill of Rights for the Injured Worker conspicuously in a common area. Work-related injuries resulting in 7 or more days of lost work time must be reported to the state.
Failure to carry Workers' Compensation coverage as required in Georgia can result in civil or criminal penalties of up to $10,000 per violation, as well as the possible imprisonment of up to 12 months. Employers without coverage can also be held liable for the cost of coverage, including medical expenses and lost wage benefits.
Do Sole Proprietors need Workers' Compensation in Georgia?
Partners and sole proprietors in Georgia are not automatically considered to be employees, which excludes them from Workers' Compensation requirements. However, partners or sole proprietors can choose to be covered as employees, which entitles them to the same Workers' Compensation benefits available to other employees.
How Much Does Georgia Workers’ Compensation Insurance Cost?
In Georgia, as in other states, Workers' Compensation rates vary depending on the type of work performed by an employee and your company’s accident or claim history, as well as your payroll. Businesses in lower risk industries can generally expect lower rates, assuming a favorable safety history.
Where can I buy Workers' Compensation in Georgia?
Georgia employers can purchase required Workers' Compensation coverage through agents or brokers licensed to sell business insurance in the state. Online portals, such as CoverWallet, also provide a valuable resource to easily get rates for Workers' Compensation coverage as well as other important types of insurance coverage.
What is covered by Workers' Compensation in Georgia?
Workers' Compensation benefits in Georgia pay for approved medical expenses due to work-related injuries or occupational illnesses. Rehabilitative benefits are also provided, as is partial income replacement for lost wages due to temporary disability.