Most businesses with employees in Connecticut are required to carry Workers’ Compensation coverage. Single member LLCs and sole proprietors are excluded from the requirement but may include themselves for coverage as an employee. Corporate officers and multi-member LLC members are included in the requirement but may opt out of coverage.
Sole proprietors, LLC members, partners, and corporate officers can be insured optionally and at their preference. Private household employees working less than 26 hrs per week are also excluded from Connecticut’s Workers’ Compensation coverage requirement.
Employers in Connecticut are required to post a notice in a conspicuous area detailing Workers' Compensation coverage, including the name of the insurer and the location of the Connecticut Workers’ Compensation Commission office.
Employers in Connecticut that do not carry required Workers' Compensation coverage can face a civil penalty of up to $5,000 for each employee, with a maximum civil penalty of $50,000. Penalties of $100 per day for continued non-compliance may also apply in addition to possible criminal charges.
Who needs to buy Workers' Compensation in Connecticut?
In Connecticut, businesses with one or more full or part-time employee, or even contract employees, are required to carry Workers' Compensation coverage. Sole proprietors or single member LLC members without employees do not need to purchase Workers' Compensation coverage but may choose to cover themselves as an employee.
Where can I buy Workers' Compensation insurance in Connecticut?
Employers in Connecticut can purchase Workers' Compensation coverage through insurance agents or brokers licensed to sell commercial insurance in the state. Online insurance portals such as CoverWallet can also help you purchase Workers' Compensation and other important insurance policies for your business.
How Much Does Connecticut Workers’ Compensation Insurance Cost?
Workers' Compensation coverage in Connecticut uses classification codes from the National Council on Compensation Insurance (NCCI) as one of the primary factors in determining rates according to industry type. The safety and claims history of your business is also considered, along with your payroll to determine a rate based on risk and the potential cost of temporary income replacement for injured workers. CoverWallet can provide you with a quote.
What is covered by Workers' Compensation in Connecticut?
The Connecticut Workers' Compensation Act provides medical care and survivor benefits for employees who suffer work-related injuries or occupational illnesses. Workers' Compensation coverage in Connecticut also provides temporary income to replace lost wages due to a work-related injury.