The Ultimate Guide to Roofers License per State
Acquiring a roofers license is one of the crucial steps in becoming a certified and legitimate construction business. With each state having different license requirements and regulations, you need to know the specifics before moving and starting your business.
So, why do roofers need to be licensed?
Besides protecting your payment rights, holding the proper license helps you build trust and confidence with your clients. What's more, working without a roofers license is illegal in some states, and you might end up losing your rights.
Here are the license requirements for each state.
In Alabama, licensing for roofing contractors is done by the Licensing Board for General Contractors. The board oversees over 8,000 state-licensed contractors, establishes licensing requirements, and administers trade exams.
You need to have a license for commercial projects valued at $50,000 or more and residential projects worth $10,000 or more. You also have to pass a trade, business, and law exam and prove that you've completed at least three roofing projects in the past three years.
In Alaska, the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development oversees licensing for roofing contractors. For a residential remodeling project, you need to pass an exam and take the Alaska Craftsman Home Program two years before applying for the license. You need to place a $50,000 bond for a commercial license, have workers' compensation insurance and roofing liability insurance.
The Arizona Registrar of Contractors (ROC) issues examination and licensing and handles trade requirements in Arizona. For roofing work worth over $1,000, it's necessary to have a roofing license issued by the state. You also need to provide your financial statement, pass a trade exam, and show proof of a surety bond and workers' compensation.
Licensing in Arkansas is done by the Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board. Here, general construction work, including roofing worth more than $2,000, requires a state license.
Licensing for building and construction in California falls under the Contractor State Licensing Board (CSLB). To get your license, you need to have at least four years of working experience within the past ten years. In addition to passing an exam, you need a $15,000 surety bond.
To handle any project that exceeds $500, you need a general contractor's license. You'll pay $330 to apply for the license and $200 after passing your exams. You can run your handyman business unlicensed as long as you get paid less than $500 per task, including materials and labor.
If you've been wondering how to get a roofing license in my state, you'll be glad to know that it's a very straightforward process. Apart from the basic legal requirements, the California State Licensing Board will ask you to prove your journeyman experience. They need to verify your experience through recommendations from any of the following:
Former or current employer
A licensed general contractor
Current or past employee
Remember, you must renew your license once every two years. And if you happened to change any general information regarding your business, you need to reflect it on the renewal application.
Other California roofing requirements
California also requires that you have worker's compensation insurance, even if you don't have employees. Since roofing is an industry with numerous risks, it's wise to look beyond the state requirements.
Most contractors go for general liability insurance, which covers many claims like property damage and injury. If you're a handyman, you'll be better off with handyman insurance for liability coverage.
Joining a trade organization is one way of differentiating your business from other California roofing experts. In addition to your insurance and license, having the support of a local trade organization shows your clients that you're actively working to improve your business and community.
There's no state license for general contractors, let alone a state licensing board in Colorado. Instead of a roofers license, all you need to operate your business is a business license. Remember to check the local requirements for any requirements and regulations at the local level.
In Connecticut, there's no roofing license requirement by the state for roofing contractors. Contractors are classified as either minor or major. Minor contractors, commonly known as home improvement contractors, work on small multi-family units and private homes.
Major contractors can work on public and commercial projects. Both minor and major contractors must register their business with the Department of Consumer Protection.
Delaware doesn't have a specific licensing for roofing contractors. However, if you're working on projects worth more than $50,000, you must register with the Delaware Division of Revenue for a business license. To receive the license, you'll have to pursue an approved training course and pass an exam.
You need a roofers license in Georgia if you're working on a task valued at more than $2,500. To be licensed, you must show two years of experience, proof of insurance, and completion of two projects before sitting for exams.
The Construction Industry Licensing Board (CILB) oversees licensing for roofing contractors in Florida. Here, licensing falls under two categories: certified and registered. Certified contractors work throughout the state, while registered contractors can only work on projects in specific local jurisdictions.
Certified contractor license requirements include a background check, roofing insurance, and work experience. You need proof of financial responsibility for a registered contractor license, a certificate of competency, and business insurance.
In Hawaii, it's a requirement to have a roofing license by the state for projects worth more than $1,000. Before sitting for exams, you need to show that you've done supervisory work for at least four years within the past ten years.
Idaho doesn't require licensing for roofing contractors. But you need to register your business with the Idaho Contractors Board. Unlike most states, there's no examination, experience, or education requirement in Idaho. All you need is proof of insurance and your business information.
The Department of Professional Regulation oversees licensing for roofing contractors in Illinois. Illinois has three types of licenses:
Residential, industrial, and commercial (unlimited)
Remember that you must sit for the residential license exam and pass it before applying for a commercial/industrial license. You also need proof of insurance and a $10,000 surety bond.
Roofing contractors don't need a roofers license in Indiana. But check the local requirements to ensure that you comply with all the laws.
Iowa requires all construction contractors earning more than $2,000 per year to register with the Division of Labor and acquire a roofers license. There's no exam requirement, but you need to show proof of unemployment insurance.
Although there's no state licensing for roofing contractors in Kansas, you need a roofing contractor registration certificate from the Kansas Attorney General. What's more, you must show proof of worker's compensation and roofing liability insurance.
It's not a requirement to have a roofing license in Kentucky. But you may decide to receive certification from the Kentucky Roofing Contractors Association.
The Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors handles licensing for roofing contractors in Louisiana. You need a state license for any construction work exceeding $75,000 and home repairs worth more than $7,500. Besides passing your exams, you must show proof of worker's compensation and general liability insurance.
Licensing for roofing contractors isn't a requirement in Maine. But if you're working with asbestos, you'll need a Conditional Asbestos Abatement License issued by the Department of Environmental Protection.
Licensing in Maryland is somehow all over the place. For instance, general contractors can build homes without a license but must register with the Home Builder Registration Unit of the Attorney General's Office.
If your roofing work falls under the Home Improvement category, you'll need to have a roofers license. To apply for one, you must pass the exam and have at least two years of working experience.
The state Board of Building Regulations and Standards oversees licensing for roofing contractors in Massachusetts. To conduct your business, you need a Construction Supervisor License (CSL).
There are two types of licensing, restricted license (1–2 family dwelling) and unrestricted license (projects exceeding 35,000 cubic feet). You can only acquire this license after passing an exam and showing three years of work experience.
Generally, most of the licensing for roofing contractors in Michigan goes through the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA). To apply for licensing, you must pass an exam after completing 60 hours of education.
To start your roofing business in Minnesota, you need a roofers license if your total value exceeds $15,000 per year. Before you get the permit, you must first pass the roofers trade exam, post a $15,000 surety bond, and show proof of insurance.
The Mississippi State Board of Contractors regulates roofers license, educates consumers, and enforces licensing laws in Mississippi. All residential roofing jobs worth over $10,000 need a Residential Roofing License. Before the board approves you for a license, you must have insurance, show your financials and pass the trade, business, and law exam.
There's no state licensing for roofing contractors in Missouri. However, most licensing regulation is done by the counties and municipalities. So, it's wise to check at a local level for any license requirements.
You don't need to hold a state license to conduct your business in Montana. Just ensure you register with the state's Department of Labor and Industry.
In Nebraska, most state regulations center on registration than licensing. All contractors receiving more than $5,000 per year must register with the state's Department of Labor.
The Nevada State Contractors Board handles licensing for roofing contractors in Nevada. To receive the C-15a Roofing Contractor License, you must have at least four years of working experience within the past ten years, obtain a bond and show your finances. You'll also need to show proof of workers' compensation coverage and take the trade, business, and law exams.
Unless you work with asbestos, you don't require a roofers license to start your roofing business in New Hampshire.
New Jersey doesn't require roofing contractors to hold licenses, but you need to register your business with particular state offices.
In New Mexico, every contractor must carry a license. Before you take the exam, you must have at least two years of working experience.
You don't need a roofers license to work in New York. But be sure to check the local licensing requirements before you start working.
Licensing for roofing contractors in North Carolina is done by the Licensing Board for General Contractors. You need a state license for projects valued at $30,000 or more.
In North Dakota, all roofing contractors doing jobs worth $4,000 or more must carry a license. You can apply for any of the four classes of licenses available, depending on the size of your projects. Although there's no exam requirement, you must show proof of liability insurance and workers' compensation insurance.
Ohio doesn't have state licensing for roofing contractors, but there may be license requirements at the local level.
In Oklahoma, roofing contractors don't need to carry state-issued licenses. All you need is a Roofing Contractor Registration, which you can acquire by showing proof of liability and workers' compensation insurance.
The Oregon Construction Contractors Board issues roofers licenses in Oregon. Besides completing pre-license training, you need to pass a test and show proof of insurance before receiving a license.
You don't need a roofers license to work in Pennsylvania. However, check at the local level for any licensing requirements before you start working.
Roofing contractors in Rhode Island must carry a state license to work. To be licensed, you have to pass a test and complete ten hours of roofing education each year. Additionally, you must be bonded and show proof of insurance.
If you fall under the Residential Specialty Contractor category in South Carolina, you don't need a state roofers license for your business. However, you must register with the Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation.
In South Dakota, licensing is done at the municipalities. That's why it's wise to check at the local level for licensing requirements before you begin work.
You require a state license for any project worth more than $25,000 in Tennessee. To be licensed, you must pass a business, law, and trade exam, provide a financial statement, and show proof of insurance.
Roofing contractors in Texas aren't required to hold a state-issued license. But the Roofing Contractors Association offers a voluntary licensing process for those interested.
In Utah, all contractors, including roofing contractors, need to obtain a state-issued license. To acquire a roofers license, you have to show proof of insurance, four years of work experience, and pass the trade, business, and law exams.
There's no state licensing for roofing contractors in Vermont. But before you begin working, check at the local level for regulations and requirements.
You'll need licensing for roofing contractors to work in Virginia. When applying for one, you need to choose the level you want as well as your specialty:
Class A – allows you to work on projects worth $10,000
Class B – allows you to work on projects with a maximum of $120,000 in value
Class C - Unlimited licenses
Roofing contractors in Washington don't require a state license. But remember to register with the Department of Labor and Industries (DLI).
Construction workers, including roofing contractors, need permits to work in West Virginia. To receive a roofers license, you first have to pass a trade, law, and business exam and then show proof of workers' compensation cover.
You don't require a roofers license to work in Wisconsin. But you'll need to be certified if you're working with asbestos.
You don't require a roofers license to work in Wyoming but ensure you check the local licensing requirements before you begin work.
Protect Your Investment
Without a proper license, you'll wind up paying hefty fines, and you might even lose the mechanics lien. That's why you need to check with your state's licensing requirements and get the appropriate license before you start working.
Here at CoverWallet, we take great pride in helping small businesses buy customized coverage and manage their insurance conveniently. Contact us today to speak with a certified consultant.